Facts – Northern Ireland

Sometimes Northern Ireland is recognized as a province or region, and sometimes as a country… so this causes some confusion. It has a capital city and own laws so technically it is a country, and we will refer to it as such.

So here we go… in no particular order, facts about Northern Ireland.

1. 1921 marked the year that the entire island of Ireland of was split; the northern part would remain a part of the United Kingdom, while the south would be an independent country “The Republic of Ireland”. The hardcore Irishmen wanted to be an independent country and not be a subject of Great Britain. So Great Britain kept the northern part.

2. Northern Ireland is the smallest country in the United Kingdom. It borders the Republic of Ireland to the south.

3. Northern Island has a population of around 1.9 million people.

4. Even though it is very small, it makes its own laws.

5. Main spoken language is English, with a smaller population also speaking Irish and Ulster Scots.

6. The capital city is Belfast, and has a population of around 342,000 people. Belfast is also the largest city in the country.

7. It uses the British Pound as its currency.

8. Lake Lough Neagh is the country’s largest lake at 392 km, it is a freshwater lake.

9. The Giant’s Causeway is a natural wonder, nature’s miracle. It is located in County Antrim on the north coast of Northern Ireland and is currently a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a huge tourist attraction for the country.

10. 17 March is a national day: St Patrick’s Day.

11. The the pneumatic tire was invented in Belfast by John Dunlop.

12. You know that popular TV show called Game of Thrones? Most of it was filmed in Northern Ireland.

13. There is no border between The Republic of Ireland and Northern Island, people cross freely without any check points.